The members of ENTSO-E, the European Network of Transmission System Operators for Electricity, consist of 39 companies in 35 countries.

ENTSO-E's operations are regulated by the EU's regulation on the internal market of electricity (EU 2019/943). The European transmission system operators must work together to promote the functioning of the electricity market and cross-border trade of electricity within the EU and to ensure the optimal management and co-ordinated operation of the transmission system as well as its technically sound development. In accordance with the regulation on the internal market of electricity, ENTSO-E must contribute to the preparation of network codes and ten-year network development plans for the European transmission system.

ENTSO-E's supreme decision-making body is the general assembly where all the members are represented. The work is headed by a Board, which has 12 members from all over Europe. The practical work is organised into five Committees: Market Committee, Operations Committee, System Development Committee, Research and Development Committee and Information and Communication Technologies. Various working groups and regional committees work under these. Law and information technology specialists support the activities through their own group. ENTSO-E's secretariat is located in Brussels.