Transmission area division, implementation 22.5.2023

Finland's internal transmission area division is used for maintaining the reliability of the main grid and electricity system during the balancing time frame. Transmission area division is used for production plans and the allocation of bids in the balancing energy and balancing capacity markets. The transmission area refers to the geographical area in which the power plants, consumption units or energy storages are located.

According to the current division of transmission areas, Finland has two transmission areas, north of the latitude 64 ° (north) and south of the latitude 64 ° (south). On 17 February 2023, the Energy Authority has confirmed changes to the terms and conditions, according to which the transmission area division will be renewed starting form 22 May 2023, so that Finland will have three transmission zones in the future (south, central and north), the geographical location of which is shown in the map below.